Your Ad Here

Read This First!!

All the files listed here is obtained from across the web. Download at your own risk, and we only provide this as preview only. If you like the artists, support them by buying their legal copy of their songs/albums or CD.

Doves - Lost Sides (Mp3 Download)

Review by Tim DiGravina @
Released as a promotional vehicle for Lost Souls by Heavenly in a run of only 1,250 copies, Lost Sides collects 12 songs that didn't make it onto Doves' debut album. All of the songs on the collection would see release across the various singles extracted from Lost Souls. Unlike many a Brit-pop B-side collection, Lost Sides doesn't really work that well as a cohesive whole. Some of the songs are variations on album cuts, others kind of meander in stifled or dated grooves, and two or three tracks are obvious throwaways. But enough charm peaks out of the corners to elevate a number of the songs and make Lost Sides or the singles worthwhile. The bombastic anthemic rock of "Darker" sees Doves at their most aggressive, experimenting with vibes reminiscent of Talk Talk. These vibes continue on "Meet Me at the Pier," as edgy guitar jabs contrast most pleasantly with Jimi Goodwin's sweet humming. "Valley" and "Your Shadow Lay Across My Life" both would have been fine fits on Lost Souls, as both songs feature the band's trademark swirling bombast and strong melodies. Perhaps best of all, and not really indicative of the band's usual sonic territory, is "Acoustic No. 1," which features dynamic chugging acoustic guitars that simply and delightfully embed themselves into one's brain for the remainder of the day. Lost Sides certainly isn't essential listening for casual fans, and even hardcore fans won't be that impressed, since nothing to be found here represents the band at the top of its game. But the collection is pleasant enough while it lasts.

Track Lists
Disc 1 :
01. Break Me Gently (Incidental)
02. Darker
03. Your Shadow Lay Across My Life
04. Meet Me At The Pier
05. Down To Sea
06. Crunch
07. Zither
08. Valley
09. Northenden
10. Hit The Ground Running
11. Willow's Song
12. Far From Grace

Disc 2 :
01. Words (Echoboy Remix)
02. N.Y. (Chris Coco Remix)
03. M62 Song (Four Tet Remix)
04. The Sulphur Man (Rebelski Remix)
05. The Last Broadcast (Magnet Remix)
06. Where We're Calling From (Hebden Bridge Remix)
07. Satellites (Soulsavers Remix)

Download Instruction

I had already tested the links before I posted the album with "Internet Download Manager". If you fail to download all mp3s on this blog, you should try it conventionally through "Save Target As.." for Explorer users or "Save Link As.." for Firefox users. If the problem persists, links are invalid.


  • All mp3s on this site are not on our server, we only found them by search engine. So, don't ask if they became invalid.
  • Although you can have all these mp3s for free, I still recommend you to buy the original CD. I do buy the original CD.
  • All credits go to original uploader...

What People Said

I cant download the last song of the seconnd cd :-(
Thanks Blogger Rob :: 12/19/06, 7:57 AM :: Top  

comment bottom

Leave a Comment

Your Ad Here
Your Ad Here